clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta United will host the New York Red Bulls in their home opener

Sunday, March 5 will see Atlanta United take the field for the first time in competition

Atlanta United (@atlutd)

Major League Soccer announced the 2017 home openers for all 22 clubs today. Atlanta United will host the New York Red Bulls at Bobby Dodd Stadium on Sunday, March 5 at 7:00 p.m. The game will likely be broadcast on one of the league’s national television partners.

The following week, Atlanta will travel to Minnesota for the Loons’ home opener on Sunday, March 12. Kickoff at TCF Bank Stadium will take place at 5:00 p.m. in another likely national broadcast.

The 2017 MLS season will kickoff on Friday, March 3 at 9:30 p.m. Eastern with Portland hosting Minnesota at Providence Park. The defending MLS Cup champion Seattle Sounders will travel to Houston on March 4 for their first match of the season. Supporters’ Shield winners FC Dallas will also be on the road that day in Los Angeles against the Galaxy.

Each team will play 34 games in 2017. They will face each of their 10 conference opponents home and away. They will also play a third game against some conference opponents, while playing the clubs from the opposite conference once.