clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlanta United schedule 2017: Rivalry match vs. Orlando City to open Mercedes-Benz Stadium

New, 21 comments

The schedule for the club’s inaugural season has been revealed

Major League Soccer revealed the full schedule for the 2017 season today. As previously announced, Atlanta United will host the New York Red Bulls in their first ever league match on Sunday, March 5th at Bobby Dodd Stadium. That historic match will air nationally on Fox Sports 1.

They’ll follow up that high profile affair with a trip up north to visit fellow class of 2017 Expansion side Minnesota United for their home opener. Another appearance on national TV with ESPN2 carrying the match.

One date all Atlanta United supporters undoubtedly looked to right away was the July 30th slot. There shows a home match against expected rivals Orlando City SC, which is scheduled to be the opening of Arthur Blank’s billion dollar palace known as Mercedes-Benz Stadium. If construction plans stay on track, this match will be the first ever sporting event held in the new state of the art stadium. That match will air on FOX.

Throughout the season, Atlanta United are featured on national television a grand total of 15 times, including their first four matches. four matches will be shown on FS1, six matches will air on the ESPN networks, and four will be on UniMas or Univision. Big FOX will show one.

If the July 30th opening date for MBS is met, United will play a total of eight matches at Bobby Dodd Stadium.

Atlanta United 2017 Schedule

DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME / TV
DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME / TV
Sunday March 5 vs. New York Red Bulls 7:00 / FS1
Sunday March 12 at Minnesota United 4:00 / ESPN
Saturday March 18 vs. Chicago Fire 4:00 / UniMas
Friday March 31 at Seattle Sounders 10:00 / FS1
Saturday April 8 at Toronto FC 7:30 / FSS
Saturday April 15 at Montreal Impact 1:00 / FSS
Saturday April 22 at Real Salt Lake 9:30 / CW/FSSE
Sunday April 30 vs. DC United 3:00 / FS1
Sunday May 7 at New York City FC 4:00 / Univision
Sunday May 14 at Portland Timbers 4:00 / ESPN
Saturday May 20 vs. Houston Dynamo 7:00 / FSSE
Sunday May 28 vs. New York City FC 5:00 / ESPN
Saturday June 3 at Vancouver Whitecaps 5:30 / FSSE
Saturday June 10 at Chicago Fire 4:00 / UniMas
Saturday June 17 vs. Columbus Crew 7:00 / FSSE
Wednesday June 21 at DC United 7:30 / FSS
Saturday June 24 vs. Colorado Rapids 7:00 / FSSE
Saturday July 1 at Columbus Crew 7:30 / FSSE
Tuesday July 4 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 7:00 / FSS
Friday July 21 at Orlando City 7:00 / ESPN
Sunday July 29 vs. Orlando City 5:00 / FOX
Sunday August 6 at Sporting Kansas City 8:00 / FS1
Sunday August 13 vs. Minnesota United 6:00 / ESPN2
Saturday August 19 vs. LA Galaxy 4:00 / ESPN
Wednesday August 23 at DC United 7:30 / FSS
Saturday August 26 at Philadelphia Union 7:00 / FSSE
Saturday September 9 vs. FC Dallas 7:00 / CW/FSSE
Wednesday September 13 vs. New England Revolution 7:00 / FSS
Saturday September 16 vs. Orlando City 4:00 / Univision
Saturday September 23 vs. Montreal Impact 7:00 / CW/FSSE
Wednesday September 27 vs. Philadelphia Union 7:00 / FSS
Saturday September 30 at New England Revolution 7:30 / FSSE
Sunday October 15 at New York Red Bulls 3:00 / FSSE
Sunday October 22 vs. Toronto FC 4:00 / FSS