clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Garza, Guzan candidates for USMNT Gold Cup roster

Bruce Arena has selected them to the preliminary roster.

MLS: Houston Dynamo at Atlanta United FC Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

There’s a chance that two Atlanta United players could be representing the United States at this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup. Brad Guzan and Greg Garza have been named to the USA’s 40-man preliminary roster by Bruce Arena. Only 23 of the 40 will be chosen for the final roster with six possible changes happening after the group stage.

It makes complete sense for Garza to be included on the final roster. He’s arguably just below Jorge Villafana on the left back depth chart and has had a fantastic season for Atlanta so far in MLS. Fabian Johnson won’t be around to steal minutes on the back line. This will be a perfect chance for Garza to prove he’s first string-worthy.

On the other hand, I’m not sure it would be wise for Arena to pull Guzan away from Atlanta United. He’s joining a new team after the worst season of his career. He needs to get settled in so he can hopefully get back to his best form. Might a certain Carlos Bocanegra ring up his old pal Bruce and ask for a favor? Or, you know, maybe common sense might prevail on its own?

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris(Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)