clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Atlanta United youth players called into U17 BNT, will play the Atlanta Silverbacks

The future is bright.

MLS: Houston Dynamo at Atlanta United FC Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

If Atlanta United supporters weren't already aware, the club has a pretty decent youth system.

Five academy players, Andrew Carleton, Chris Goslin, Zyen Jones, Charlie Asensio, and newly minted Five Stripe Justin Garces, have been called into the U.S. U17 training camp by head coach John Hackworth. That is by far the most of any team, with no other club having more than two call-ups.

Those five young ballers won't have to travel anywhere, as the training camp will actually take place at Atlanta United's training ground from July 21st - July 29th. The U17's will play a number of friendlies against local competition, including the Atlanta Silverbacks at Silverbacks Park. The match begins at 11 a.m. on the 29th and admission is free.

Carleton, Jones, and Asensio are all coming off a national championship winning academy season, while Garces is now with Atlanta United's academy after coming over from Kendall SC in Miami. Garces is the usual first choice goalkeeper for the U17 national team. It'll be interesting to see how he develops in AU's system.

Atlanta United is stamping its name on the map of American youth soccer, and it's only been a year. Well done.

Here’s the full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Sam Fowler (Seattle Sounders FC; Issaquah, Wash.), Justin Garces (Atlanta United FC; Miami, Fla.), Quantrell Jones (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.)

DEFENDERS (9): Jake Arteaga (LA Galaxy, Glendora, Calif.), Carlos Asensio (Atlanta United FC; Roswell, Ga.), Ethan Bartlow (Crossfire Premier; Woodinville, Wash.), Sergino Dest (Ajax; Almere-stad, Netherlands), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), Tyler Shaver (Beachside SC; Greenwich, Conn.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake AZ; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Chris Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (9): Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Matthew Hundley (Real Colorado; Littleton, Colo.), Zyen Jones (Atlanta United FC; Clarkston, Ga.), Brayan Padilla (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas) Alejandro Pereira (Orlando City SC; Oveido, Fla.), Jacobo Reyes (C.F. Monterrey; Monterrey, Mexico), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallen, Mo.), Sebastian Soto (Real Salt Lake AZ; Carlsbad, Calif.)