clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta United release list of unprotected players ahead of 2019 MLS Expansion Draft

No major surprises.

MLS: Minnesota United FC at Atlanta United FC Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

Atlanta United have released its list of players that will be unprotected and available for selection in Tuesday’s MLS Expansion Draft between Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC. The list didn’t feature any major surprises as names you might expect were included:

Mikey Ambrose

Jon Gallagher

Jose Hernandez

Alec Kann

Kevin Kratz

Jeff Larentowicz

Justin Meram

Brendan Moore

Luiz Fernando

Michael Parkhurst

Dion Pereira

Florentin Pogba

Brek Shea

Brandon Vazquez

As a note, MLS rules mean that Homegrown Players and Generation adidas players are automatically protected and won’t count toward the 12 players clubs were required to protect, so these players weren’t available for selection:

Mo Adams (GA)

George Bello (HGP)

Andrew Carleton (HGP)

Lagos Kunga (HGP)

Miles Robinson (GA)

Patrick Okonkwo (HGP)

Inter Miami and Nashville SC will have 5 picks each on Tuesday; out of those 10 combined picks, only 1 player from an existing club can be chosen.

A few things that bear mentioning: Michael Parkhurst is on the list despite announcing his retirement. Theoretically, Inter and Nashville could select him and, if he were to somehow decide to return, that team would have the right of first refusal whether or not to sign him. It won’t happen, but since his contract runs out on January 1, he’s still on the senior roster. Also, Jeff Larentowicz is on the list as he has a player option for 2020, but it’s unlikely he’ll be picked and should be back in the fold with Atlanta next year.